1947-club-pink

As those of you who follow Simon’s excellent Stuck in a Book blog will know (and I assume that’s all of you!) it will soon be time for the next ‘Club’ read, where we all enjoy books from a particular year. This was a wonderful idea that Simon came up with, and next time we’re going to be focusing on 1947.

Some of you have asked for lists and suggestions, and of course a quick search online will bring up loads of books from that year. As Simon mentioned, the fun here is not having a prescribed list of books, but exploring your bookshelves and the wider book world to see what you have from that year and what you can find – if you can up with new or obscure titles that’s great fun! 1947 certainly does seem to have been a vintage year for publishing and I’m going to have trouble picking what to read! I have a pile of possibles, but for now I’ll do like Simon has and list a few possibles with links to a few reviews of books I’ve already read from that year:

One Fine Day by Mollie Panter-Downes

Under the Volcano by Malcolm Lowry

Exercises in Style by Raymond Queneau

A View of the Harbour by Elizabeth Taylor

Maigret’s Holiday by Simenon

The Blank Wall by Elizabeth SanxayHolding

The Valley of Adventure by Enid Blyton

Of Love and Hunger by Julian McLaren-Ross

These are just a few books of what is a very long list I have scribbled in the back of my notebooks as possibles. “One Fine Day” in particular is a fabulous read, as is the Julian McLaren-Ross. I personally plan to revisit a favourite from the Queen of Crime, a French book which had a profound effect on me back in the day, and a novel by a famous poet. Well, that’s what I’m thinking at the moment – but of course anything could happen between now and then so watch this space and Simon’s blog, and do join in – it’ll be great fun!