Just a quick heads up that the Jean Rhys Reading Week, hosted by Jacqui at JacquiWine’s Journal and Eric at Lonesome Reader begins today!

jeanrhysreadingweek-banner

There will be lots of wonderful posts, tweets and the like to draw attention to this excellent and underrated writer so do join in if you can! There are plenty of books to choose from, including any of the ones in my picture below, which shows a mixture of fiction and (auto)biography.

rhys 1

There’s also what’s probably her most famous work, “Wide Sargasso Sea”, a prequel to “Jane Eyre”. It’s the book that pretty much made her name and the one people still think of when they mention Jean Rhys. My copy had gone walkabout after being loaned to Middle Child, but Caroline at book word very kindly offered me a spare she had – isn’t it pretty? Thank you, Caroline!

WSS

However, I shall be choosing to indulge in “After Leaving Mr. Mackenzie”, which I’ve owned for decades and I couldn’t tell you if I’ve read. I’m looking forward to it, and also to hearing everyone else’s thoughts on Jean Rhys – happy reading!

