I hope you’re all looking forward to the start of the #1956Club tomorrow as much as I am! I’ve spent a good part of this week reading and exploring books from the year, but that *has* thrown up a few anomalies…

Lots of lovely online people have been coming up with suggestions of what we can read, and I was excited to find that I owned a couple of titles I hadn’t considered before; so I went and dug them out and this is them: “The Lost Steps” by Alejo Carpentier and “A Charmed Life” by Mary McCarthy, both in somewhat gnarled old Penguin editions.

However, both of these present challenges… Below is an image of the copyright page of the Carpentier, and as you can see, although the translated version was first published in 1956, the book itself came out originally in 1955. So in my mind it’s disqualified for the club, which is a shame as I’ve had it for ages and was intrigued…

The McCarthy has similar issues. As you can see below, it was first published in the UK in 1956, but originally in the US in 1955; once more I think this definitely isn’t one I think I can include in the club, although McCarthy is an author I really want to explore more.

So – two near misses for the #1956Club. Let’s see tomorrow what I *did* end up tackling as my first read of the week! 😀