2012 has of course been the bicentenary of the birth of one of the UK’s greatest writers, Charles Dickens. There has been much celebration and the Beauty is a Sleeping Cat blog has come up with the wonderful idea of Dickens in December.  One of the great man’s best-loved works is “A Christmas Carol” so this does seem entirely appropriate!

Much as I would love to embark on one of Dickens’ longer works – especially as Other Half presented me with a lovely new set of the novels earlier this  year and “Our Mutual Friend” is calling to me! – I think I will want to restrict myself to shorter works once I have finished the current chunkster.

Fortunately, I do possess three lovely little Hesperus volumes which will probably fit the bill:

a-round-stories-by-christmas-fire-charles-dickens-paperback-cover-art

Very appropriate for this time of year, and featuring Mrs. Gaskell and Wilkie Collins too, I believe.

Then there is this:

haunted-house-charles-dickens-paperback-cover-art

which will be great for more seasonal spookiness.

I also have this one which, though it is not so seasonal, may still be quite fun to read:

lazy tour

So although I can’t follow along with all of the Dickens in December deadlines, I shall certainly make sure I enjoy some of the great man’s work during the month!