I blame Lady Fancifull! Not only was it her comment on an earlier post that got me sharing my George Orwell collection on the Ramblings, she then had to mention that she’d seen reasonably priced copies of his Essays online. Of course, I had said that I was missing volume 4 in the Penguins (even though I have a lovely hardback edition) and the completist in me would have liked to have this too – well, now I have!

orwell-essays-coversTo the left are my three original volumes, and on the right the missing Vol 4 – a slightly more modern edition and a little bigger, but nevertheless the set is now complete!

orwell-essay-spines

I was pretty impressed at how good the condition of the book was, particularly as I’ve had such bad experiences with Amazon sellers in the past – however, I’ll know to go to this one again, as the book arrived beautifully packed and in an amazingly good state.

orwell-essays-4Unfortunately, it does make my originals look a little battered, but I don’t really mind. I’d forgotten what a history they have until I looked inside to check the publication dates, and found that I’d picked them all up in 1983 as ex-library stock:

orwell-essays-insideAll three have the same internal markings, and each one cost me 10p (yes, 10p!) – I was living in Hampshire at the time and no doubt these turned up either a library sale or in a local charity shop or on the book stall of my local market. If I had the time and energy to dig out my old journals, I could no doubt find out….

So my Penguin Orwell Essays collection is complete and the floorboards are groaning even more – thanks Lady F! :)))

