….. don’t forget to check out the Pound shops for books – yes, really!

£1 books

I’ve tended to not bother in recent years, especially as I’m trying to be selective about the books coming into the house (and I’ve been donating weekly too). However, Grant at 1stReading mentioned a while back a find he’d had in Poundworld of all places, and I thought it was worth checking out – and there in the midst of celebrity memoirs and tales of footballers, was the Lessing! Bizarre, but to be snapped up instantly.

lessing

And whilst idling through Poundland (one of the three we now have locally……!!) I spotted the West biography, which was unexpected to say the least – plus there was only the one copy.

west

I’ve loads of Rebecca West on my shelves, but no biography so this sounded like an ideal place to start. And I read the introduction over a nice soy latte in Costa and it does read very well – what an intriguing woman West was.

So – two lovely hardbacks, albeit in not quite crisp condition, for £1 each. The moral of this tale is that bookish finds can happen in the most unlikely of places….

