So, what an incredible week it’s been for the 1938 Club! When we embarked on this, I didn’t intend to read and review quite so many books from the one year, figuring that we only had a week to look at it. But there were so many wonderful titles that I got a bit carried away and I’ve loved everything I’ve read for 1938.

What’s been fascinating is the variety – from classic crime that seems untouched by the world situation through a novel of American jazz life to books set in the ominous world you would expect in that era. The contrasts have been striking and thought-provoking.

Alas, I didn’t get on to every book I hoped to read – these three in particular never made it:

1938 didnt read

I was keen to tackle all of them – two new reads and one re-read – but there just wasn’t the time. But having made it to the top of the pile, hopefully I’ll now get to them sooner rather than later!

Thanks so much to Simon for coming up with the idea in the first place and for co-hosting The 1938 Club, and to everyone who’s joined in, posted reviews, discovered wonderful titles and made suggestions – there’s been such an overwhelming response, which is fantastic! Β If I’ve missed your reviews/posts, please let me know in the comments so I can link. You can read Simon’s wrap-up post here.

It’s been fabulous fun – and Simon has suggested a great year for our next Club in October, which is going to be (drum roll!) 1947. Having had a quick look at the books available from that year, it looks there will many more fantasic choices to be made – so do join us for The 1947 Club in October! πŸ™‚

