Just in case you were thinking that the book buying had calmed down a little on the Ramblings, there *have* been a few arrivals recently… I’ve been doing my best not to buy, particularly bearing in mind that the festive season is approaching, but I confess to getting a little carried away after reading “The Mournful Demeanour of Lieutenant Boruvka”!

skvoreckys

“Sins for Father Knox” apparently has a couple of stories Boruvka appears in; the three books to the right are the other Boruvkas (including the one I read); and “Miss Silver’s Past” is another intriguing-sounding Skvorecky title. They were all preposterously cheap online, so I feel no guilt!

I’ve been fortunate enough to have some review prizes and a giveaway win arrived too:

review books

“Sea of Ink” is a lovely Peirene book which I was lucky enough to snag from a Twitter giveaway; and the Wilde, Schnitzler and Goncharov are all review copies, write-ups of which will appear in due course.

I’ve been trying to limit the charity shop browsing a little too, but the Samaritans came up trumps the Saturday before last with three lovely Viragos I don’t have:

viragos nov 15

They’re all in great condition, and not titles I have, so I was rather pleased.

And finally, this week in the Samaritans I came across this:

trebizond

I’ve wanted to read “The Towers of Trebizond” for a long time and despite having a somewhat uninteresting paperback version on the shelves, I couldn’t resist this beautiful reprint society hardback. The cover is in amazing condition, which is unusual as they’re so often frayed, faded or tatty. Can’t wait to read it!

So – some nice arrivals, and I’m trying to correspondingly remove some titles before Christmas. I may do a small giveaway in December – watch this space!

