To tell the truth, I wasn’t exactly happy with the Penguin Poetry of the Thirties anthology when it arrived. I got it via a swapping site, and not only was it a different edition to the one stated (and they hadn’t said) it also had a lot of annotating (which they also hadn’t said).

thirtiesI could have lived with both of those things had I known and made the choice to still have the book. But yesterday in the Samaritans Book Cave (have I ever said how much I *love* the Samaritans Book Cave?) I came across this:

thirtiesIt was £1 and *so* much nicer to look at than the other one. There *are* a few annotations, but only small ones, so I’m replacing the more modern edition with the older one – the unwanted book will be donated and the collection looks a little more homogenous!

However, I didn’t make it out of the Samaritans with only one book – these came home too:

dosto barthes

The Barthes was in a section of the Cave I don’t normally check out, but Youngest Child was browsing sociology books and I followed her over. I know I’ve read about “Camera Lucida” somewhere in connection with Georges Perec (possibly in one of Perec’s works even?) – this warrants investigation.

As for the Dostoevsky, I confess I picked it up because of this:

raduga

I have a number of books published by Raduga (probably picked up from the late lamented Collets, when I was collecting Progress Publishers books too). I have the stories already but it’s a lovely little edition on nice thick paper with coloured page numbers.

However, when I explored  further over a cup of coffee in Nero I discovered this:

litvinova

Ivy Litvinova is of course Ivy Low Litvinov, who I’ve written about on here before! Her Virago books “She Knew She Was Right” and “His Master’s Voice” are favourites of mine, and although I knew she produced translations during her life as wife of Maxim Litvinov (Stalin’s foreign affairs man), I don’t think I own one. So this was very, very exciting!

And the final fab find of the day was from the Oxfam:

apple

This is a Helene Hanff I don’t have, and bearing in mind how much I’ve loved her other books, I was happy to part with 99p for it. So a good haul, all in all, but time for a little more clearing out, I think!

