Almost? Yes, almost! The reason being that I hadn’t quite appreciated that “A Winter Book”, one of the earliest TJ adult books to be available in translation, is actually a compilation of pieces from her other collections! And obviously since it came out in 1998, many of the volumes the pieces are drawn from have been translated and published by Sort Of books.

Winter_Book

So when I came to open “A Winter Book”, being very much in a Tove frame of mind, I realised that a great deal of it consisted of pieces from “A Sculptor’s Daughter” (as well as other volumes). I’ve read that particular book too recently to read it all again, so instead I just picked out the titles that were new to me and read them! And very wonderful they were, too….

There were actually five pieces to read:

  • The Boat and Me
  • Messages
  • The Squirrel
  • Letters from Klara
  • Taking Leave

All were very different and all a delight! “The Boat and Me” tells of Tove’s venturing out on a voyage round the coast all on her own; “Messages” is (I presume) a telling collection of messages left on a phone answering machine – some from her partner, some from complete strangers; “The Squirrel” is a compelling tale of an ageing woman living on her own on an island, and her odd relationship with the creature of the title; “Letters from Klara” reveals much about the life and character of a woman through the (not-so) one-sided view of her correspondence; and “Taking Leave” is a poignant piece about Tove and Tooti taking leave of the island for the last time, as they realise that they are physically unable to cope there any more – and Tove unaccountably develops a fear of the sea.

tove on her island

All of these short fictions are wonderful in their own way, but I think it was “The Squirrel” that made the most impact. It’s strange and rather absorbing; the woman on the island is isolated and dependent on regular tots of madeira wine. She’s drawn to the squirrel yet somehow doesn’t wish to become involved with it. The squirrel itself has floated onto the island on a small piece of wood and the two have to find a kind of co-existence, respecting each other’s space and sorting out what they need to survive without threatening each other. It’s a poignant and moving piece of writing and a stand-out for me.

I keep banging on about what a marvellous short story Jansson is, but all I can do is reiterate it again. She’s a master of the art and I’m so glad that I discovered her work – if you love good short story writing (or just good writing!) she’s definitely for you.

