Which might seem to be something of an alarmist heading – but to be honest, the TBR does worry me a lot, particularly as I keep reading of other bloggers’ triumphs with attacking theirs! I have been clearing books out madly, being as ruthless as I can with volumes I’ve carted around for over 30 years without reading, and four large boxes went to a charity collection recently.

However, this hasn’t stopped books continuing to arrive at the Ramblings – this week has seen the following make their way through the door:

nabokov x 2

These two lovelies arrived to replace two books in a large Nabokov omnibus I donated because it was so unwieldy I was just never going to read it. Plus they’re much prettier….

berger

Only the right-hand John Berger volume arrived this week – I’ve had “Ways of Seeing” knocking around for ages – and the novel was because Verso were having a wonderful sale…

stepanchikovo

And this is one of the few Dostoevskys I don’t have, so I succumbed for no other reason than I wanted it.

To try to alleviate things, I dragged several books into the Samaritans Book Cave to donate today – and came out with these:

book cave finds

A lovely Folio Society Russian classic and an original Green Virago of Rebecca West’s “The Fountain Overflows” – is there no hope for me? Have I no willpower??

Well, no I haven’t. The thing is, if I read only the books I own that I’ve never read, I wouldn’t need to buy a book for, oh, at least a couple of years. The TBR has spilled onto another shelf or two and there are now these (the most recent layer) as well as literally hundreds upstairs:

some of the tbr

Frankly, the only way I don’t get into a screaming panic about it is just by not thinking about it. And buying more books.

Help! πŸ™‚

