While I was running around like a mad thing last week, the very wonderful Shiny New Books reached the milestone of its first birthday, and also launched issue 5 – very exciting, with lots of lovely bookish stuff to read, and you can dip in here!

SNB-logo-small-e1393871908245I’ve been very pleased to provide a couple of reviews for SNB, including one of a book which I think will be one of my favourites of the year – “The Librarian”, by Mikhail Elizarov, published by the ever-wonderful Pushkin Press.

librarian

To quote myself: “We all believe in the transformative power of literature; however, what would happen if books really did change us in dramatic ways, bringing strength to old people and wisdom to fools? That’s the premise behind Ukrainian author Mikhail Elizarov’s extraordinary new novel from Pushkin Press.”

“The Librarian” is a remarkably powerful work of literature, engrossing and unforgettable. You can read the rest of my review here, and the book is definitely going to feature highly in my end-of-year round-up!

elizarov

Elizarov is a writer whose work is new to the English-speaking reader, and as far as I can tell this is the first book of his to be translated. Let’s hope there are more to follow!

