Small-Blue-RGB-National-Poetry-Month-Logo_0

So, it’s apparently National Poetry Month! This was not something I knew about till it started popping up on blogs I read, and so I did a little investigating and found this out:

Inaugurated by the Academy of American Poets in 1996, National Poetry Month, held every April, is the largest literary celebration in the world with schools, publishers, libraries, booksellers, and poets celebrating poetry’s vital place in our culture.

Since I’m actually quite a poetry lover, albeit one who never seems to have enough time to read the stuff, I think this might be the impetus I need to get on with experiencing a little more verse. Fortuitously enough, I just indulged in a purchase, in the form of the Penguin Book of Russian Poetry, put together by the excellent translator Robert Chandler:

penguin russian

Isn’t it beautiful? And I know it could be argued that I really don’t need any more Russian poetry – after all, I have many volumes by individual poets, as well as this lovely book given to me by Youngest Child a Christmas or two ago:

everyman

However! The Everyman book, which I’m currently making great headway with, collects the poems by theme – which is interesting, but not always the way I want to read poetry. The Penguin volume, however, goes chronologically and features a great number of poets I haven’t read. So it’ll be ideal for checking out authors new to me, and as it features an erudite introduction plus short bios of all the poets it’s even better!

I shall try hard to read a poem a day – and I think I shall dig out these two that I was trying to make my through and see if I can dip into them as well. I have some time off work over Easter and it will be a good way to estbalish a new routine before I go back to work. Fingers crossed! 🙂

The offending doorsteps!

