Yes, I know that’s a bit of an alarmist headline, but unfortunately yesterday brought bad news in the form of the fact that the only local “proper” second-hand bookstore, Claude Cox Books, is closing down at the end of March. I was a little gutted to say the least – it’s been a fixture in Ipswich as long as I’ve known the town and it means that we’ll only be left with Waterstones and the charity shops.

That might sound pretty good, but two of the charity shops have closed in the last few months and another has a “To Let” sign up – so prospects are not great, and I may end up having to take the train to Felixstowe on a regular basis to visit the wonderful Treasure Chest books, just to get a second-hand book fix.

I bought what will probably be my final volume from Claude Cox in the form of this:

Requiem by Shizuko Go

Requiem by Shizuko Go

It’s a Women’s Press volume from back in the day and sounded up my street – and a bargain at £1. All the books were half price, and I could have bought many more, but since I’m having space issues I had to refrain.

The charity shops *did* yield some delights too – this from the Sense shop (the one with the “To let” sign:

King, Queen, Knave by Nabokov

King, Queen, Knave by Nabokov

I have this one as part of a large hardback omnibus of five stories but it’s so unwieldly that I’m trying to replace it with individual books – three down, two to go!

Rhapsody by Dorothy Edwards

Rhapsody by Dorothy Edwards

And finally, from the Samaritans Book Cave, a pre-loved but still appealing Virago! This is by Dorothy Edwards, a Welsh author who died young. I have her Virago novel also, so it was nice to find this matching collection of short stories.

I often feel like I’m trying to keep the local book suppliers afloat single-handed; alas, I can’t (lack of space is an increasing issue) – but I’m doing my best! 🙂

