Image courtesy freewallsource.com

Image courtesy freewallsource.com

I don’t often pick up on the memes floating about online, but this one is very appealing and as I’ve found the ones I’ve read on other people’s blogs (Stuck-in-a-Book, Annabel’s House of Books, Fleur Fisher in Her World) fascinating, I thought I’d have a go to see what this tells me about the Ramblings! So here goes…

January:

Today is the birthday of author E.M. Forster…

February:

Echo – by Anna Akhmatova

The roads to the past have long been closed
and what is the past to me now?
What is there? Bloody slabs,
or a bricked up door,
or an echo that still could not
keep quiet, although I ask so…
The same thing happened with the echo
as with what I carry in my heart

March:

Every so often I feel the need to dive into a chunkster – I got through a few last year, including “Anna Karenina” and “The Brothers Karamazov”, as well as “Life: A User’s Manual”. All hefty tomes, but it’s so enjoyable to sink yourself into a big book and really wallow in it for a while, not worrying about rushing to finish it and letting all the other books go to the bottom of Mount TBR….. 🙂

April:

Having really enjoyed my read of “Journey to the Centre of the Earth“, I’ve been keen to read another Verne – so stumbling across this Everyman edition of “Around the World in Eighty Days” in the local Oxfam book shop for 99p was rather timely!

May:

Finnish author Tove Jansson is probably best known as the woman behind the Moomins – certainly, that’s how I’d heard of her, although I confess that I’ve never read (or watched) the adventures of the little white creatures!

June:

Yes – that means I’m actually considering reading plans for this month; and we all know how disastrously things like that tend to go for me! For example, I honestly intended to take part in the LibraryThing Virago group’s First World War read-along – and I’ve totally failed to read even one book for that, despite having several on the shelves.

July:

I love reading a new author for the first time, and Boll is one of those – although I have been aware of his name and work for a little while.

August:

And let’s face it, I’m not knowing for succeeding with reading schedules! 🙂 However, August is the month designated by the LibraryThing Virago Modern Classics to read just Viragos (and Persephones, which are counted as honorary Viragos!).

September:

… plus other niceness in London!

Yes, I managed to escape for another day out in the Big Smoke at the weekend – a joint visit to Kew Gardens and also the lovely bookshops of the Bloomsbury/Charing Cross Road area!

October:

As I’ve mentioned before, way back in the early 1980s, in my early days of exploratory reading, I stumbled across the book “Literary Women” by Ellen Moers. It became a book that shaped my life in many ways, because it sent me off in pursuit of a number of women writers including Colette, Simone de Beauvoir (and then Sartre) and of course Virginia Woolf.

November:

November is German Literature Month, hosted by Caroline at Beauty is a Sleeping Cat and Lizzy at Lizzy’s Literary Life. And what a good idea, because there’s so much wonderful German literature to be read and celebrated!

December:

I don’t often wish I was in other countries (except when I’m having grand dreams of travelling round Europe and Russia by train!) but I confess that I would rather like to be in New York next week!

Hmm – so what does that all tell me about my reading year?

1. I’ve read a lot of Russians

2. I’ve read a lot of Germans

3. I’ve shopped quite a bit

4. I still love Virginia Woolf!

You can read the original posts by clicking on the links; I shall do a proper sort of round-up before the end of the year. Having kept a little spreadsheet of all I’ve read, it will be interesting to see what I think are my best reads of the year! 🙂

 

