I don’t often wish I was in other countries (except when I’m having grand dreams of travelling round Europe and Russia by train!) but I confess that I would rather like to be in New York next week! The reason being that the good folk at Read Russia have declared December 1 – 5 as Russian Literature Week 2014!

russian lit week

A quick look at their programme shows that there are a wonderful variety of events going on in the Big Apple, from discussions of classics and modern works, to the showing of a film about Vassily Grossman. Much as I’d like to attend some of these, Atlantic-hopping is not something I’m up for, so I’ll probably celebrate by reading some of my lovely Russian books!

Read Russia has an interesting website, and a lovely anthology of writing which is downloadable here. So ifΒ  you love Russian writing, or want to explore new authors, it’s definitely a good place to visit!

