screen-shot-2014-09-24-at-07-23-25

November is German Literature Month, hosted by Caroline at Beauty is a Sleeping Cat and Lizzy at Lizzy’s Literary Life. And what a good idea, because there’s so much wonderful German literature to be read and celebrated!

I aim to take part in a small way (I can’t commit the whole month to Germany!) and already have a little review scheduled of a modern piece of German satire. Other possibles for the month include:

hunger angel

I picked up this title recently via a swapping website and I’m keen to read Muller as she comes highly recommended!

illuminations

Walter Benjamin is another writer I’ve been dipping into but not really in any depth – what better time to read his classic “Illuminations”?

berlin cover

I picked up a copy of this book (though not with this rather lively cover) recently and Weimar German would be a good place to visit too.

Then of course there’s Joseph Roth – I have stacks of his books on Mount TBR – and Christa Wolf, who I have in lovely Virago copies. So we shall see what German works I read this month – only time will tell! πŸ™‚

