… and survived to tell the tale!! Well – my feet might be complaining a little… 🙂

Yes, I have been a little quiet here over the last few days as I started off half-term with a flying visit to Northants to visit the Ageing Parents and then on to Leicester to stay with Youngest Child. All three offspring are now based in the city so at least I only have to travel to one place to see them all!

I had something of a book crisis before setting off, starting several books and then abandoning them, before settling on taking “The North” by Paul Morley with me. I’ve had this for ages and I don’t know why I haven’t read it yet, so it seemed ideal train reading.

One of the nicest things about travelling by train is the time for reading, and there was an added bonus on this journey as I was going via London St. Pancras station which has a lovely and recently opened branch of Hatchards. It looked so appealing as I passed by that I felt I must pop in. Although it’s small it’s very perfectly formed with lots of judiciously chosen books on little tables just right for enticing the unwary traveller to part with money – which I did, I confess!

These are the two books in question – the Lem in particular I have heard much about and been keen on tracking down for ages, but haven’t ever come across. I’ve decided I need to actually read a few pages of a book before jumping in and deciding I want to read it – this may help me become more selective! The quick look at the pages of “The Cyberiad” convinced me I should try it, and my eye was also caught by “Flatland” that was sitting next to me. The helpful bookseller assured me her colleague thought it was wonderful and was completely obsessed by it, so I figured I would give it a try!

As for the charity shops of Leicester – well, I’ve banged on about them before, and there are quite a few of them! My favourite is the Loros Charity Bookshop, and over the road from it an Age Concern Bookshop. I found a few treasures at each:

These three were from the Loros: the Fred Vargas because I liked the first of her stories; the Sagan because it’s a lovely old Penguin I don’t have, and the Berlin Alexanderplatz because it will be ideal for German Literature Month! I *could* have picked up many more titles, but I was good!

This lovely came from the Age Concern shop, and I was *so* please to come across it (especially for only £2.50!) I’ve been looking at so many Trollopes in charity shops (that really sounds *wrong*!) and they’re most often old and tatty and nasty. This wasn’t and it’s one I want, so yay! If I’m honest, the rest of the charity shops really didn’t have much to interest me, but that’s probably something of a relief to the bookshelves (though not to my feet, because they’re fairly spread out and take a lot of walking around Leicester to get to…)

Youngest Child and I did pop into the Leicester Waterstones too – and their selection of books didn’t seem quite so adventurous as my local branch, despite it being larger, which was a surprise. However, while we were queueing for YC to buy a book, I noticed that they had both types of Books Are My Bag totes hanging on the counter, so I suggested YC ask for one of the Tracey Emin ones. Bizarrely, the lady behind the counter began to look for a price, and so we had to explain to her what they were… She commented that she had been away, but this set me thinking about how BAMB really needs to work together with the bookshops they’re supporting to try to get the promotion to be much more high-profile. Not only do they not publicise the event enough, the bookshops don’t seem to be wanting to push it. Most odd…

However, very sweetly YC gifted me the Emin bag as I didn’t have it – bless her! I had a lovely time visiting the offspring and APs, found some nice bookish treasures and got plenty of reading done on the train – so a nice start to half term! 🙂

*********

I haven’t forgotten about the giveaway for “On Roads” – in fact, I might well have picked up an extra copy in Leicester so I can give away more than one! – and I’ll be announcing the winners tomorrow – watch this space!

