…despite some wonderful book bargains in town!

I suppose I should start with the positive which is the *big* book bargain; I have had my eye on this title for a while because it combines several things that interest me (Russia! Shostakovich! Leningrad! Modern History!) But it’s a big chunky hardback and not cheap so I was considering putting it on my Christmas list until I just happened to stumble into The Works at the weekend…

And there it was! “Leningrad: Siege and Symphony” by Brian Moynahan for ยฃ5.99 instead of ยฃ25. Well, would you have resisted?? I didn’t….

I didn’t go into many of the charity shops yesterday, and those I did also irked me, for reasons I’ll get to! But “Crack On!” (yes, the shop really *is* called that) had a basket of 10p and 20p books outside, including this rather fragile old classic version of “Le Grand Meulnes”.

This happens to be a book I read a while back, but I think I didn’t really get – having disposed of my Penguin version a while ago, I decided that this 20p bargain would do for a revisit to see if I get more out of it second time round! And the cover, despite the damage, is very pretty.

Other arrivals have a German theme, which ties in well with the fact that November is German Literature Month – I may even be able to participate! The first was from an online swap site:

I’ve read quite a lot about Herta Muller, particularly on Stu’s site, so I’m looking forward to reading her work. And lastly, a library book:

I’ve had this on reserve for months, so it’s arrived at an opportune time! I’m not sure how comfortable I feel with reading it – but I think that might be the point…

As for what irked me – well, “The Forsyte Saga”, to be blunt – or lack of it. I’ve been circling this for a long time, thinking I should read it, and there was a copy of the first volume in the house owing to Elder or Middle Child studying it at university. Alas, in the Summer Purge it went to one of the charity shops and it shouldn’t have because I now really want to read it. I trotted round the charity shops that might have a copy and none of them did (grrrrr.) I even went into Waterstones, thinking I might splurge out on a new book (as I’ve had issues with online sellers recently and have received some real tatty stinkers with bad foxing).

And thereby hangs another irksome tale. My local Waterstones has moved its adult fiction section to upstairs and slimmed it down dramatically. Quite how do they expect to compete with online sellers if they don’t stock a wide range of books and they’re tucked away upstairs?? Yes, they could order it for me, but that doesn’t let me browse through it, compare editions, see which typeface suits me best…. I’m obviously in need of a visit to Foyles!

I had a moan about this to OH, who sensibly pointed out that I could get a penny copy online. I don’t have to be encouraged much, do I? So penny copies of all three Forsyte volumes are on their way to me now…! ๐Ÿ™‚ Grump over!

