No, seriously! I’m starting to think there is some kind of entity watching over me, pointing me in the direction of lost books needing a good home! Because I popped into town today for a few quick errands, with no intention of looking for any more volumes; but detoured into a couple of charity shops looking for a belt.

And in the first, these two caught my eye:

sten hux

I’ve wanted to read Stendhal for a while, so a nearly new Oxford version for 95p was not to be sneezed at. Likewise the Huxley – I have a load of his books on Mount TBR but no short stories and this 1944 reprint society edition was also 95p. It was also kind of intriguing – as on the title page and the reverse of that page, someone had pencilled faint messages asking someone to forgive them because it was their birthday…. My mind has been racing all day, speculating on the story behind the messages!

cremona

But find of the day was this lovely book club edition of “The Surprise of Cremona” by Edith Templeton. I read about this book on Vulpes Libris a while back, and was keen to get a copy – but all the ones I came across were overpriced, had no dust jackets etc etc. However, on the way to the bus today, I swerved into the last charity shop en route – they were revamping their bookshelves, so I took a quick glance at their other shelf of volumes of dictionaries, etc, which I don’t usually look at. Lo and behold, there was the Templeton – for £1 and with a reasonable d/j!

So the Book Finding Fairy was looking after me today – or maybe I just have Book Finding intuition. Whatever – I’m happy with the results!!

