Those of  you with better memories than me will recall that the lovely people at Hesperus Press launched their children’s imprint, Hesperus Minor, last year – and also announced a competition to suggest a lost children’s classic!

And the winner is:

the_runaways

Congratulations to Adrienne Byrne, who suggested the book and therefore provides the introduction to the book – it sounds like a great read!

Hesperus Minor have published two other lovely titles:

the_children_of_the_new_forest

and

pollyanna

Both of these two I recall being around quite a lot when I was a youngster, but the Goudge is new to me so I’m very pleased that I’ll be able to read and review it soon! As is usual with Hesperus, these are beautifully produced books with French flaps and very lovely cover illustrations – so ideal for any young (or not so young!) reader of these classics!

