Following on from their competition to find a lost children’s classic (which I posted about here), today sees the launch of the children’s imprint from one of my favourite publishers, Hesperus Press!

The first three titles from Hesperus Minor are The Coral Island by R. M. Ballantyne:

coral

The Story of the Treasure Seekers by E. Nesbit:

the-story-of-the-treasure-seekers-final

and The Princess and the Goblin by George Macdonald:

the-princess-and-the-goblin

All three are much-loved children’s classics, and it will be great to have them in beautiful Hesperus editions – the covers alone are worth having on your bookshelves! I have my copy of “The Coral Island” sitting on Mount TBR waiting to be read and I’m really looking forward to it!

lang

Hesperus tell me they are also bringing out two beautiful hardback editions of classic fairy tale collections by Andrew Lang – The Blue Fairy Book and The Red Fairy Book. These influential anthologies were first published in the late 19th century and I’m embarrassed to say I can remember very little about them – so it will be wonderful to be able to have brand new, beautifully produced editions, and with the original illustrations I believe. Just in time for a Christmas gift for any child (or adult!) who loves fairy tales (and I can think of a few I know!) Well done again Hesperus!

