I was excited to read on the Hesperus Press Blog that they’re launching a new imprint called Hesperus Minor, dedicated to rediscovering lost children’s classics. Despite my advancing age (ahem) – or maybe even because of it! – I’m quite partial to revisiting books from my childhood. I was lucky enough to be gifted a lovely copy of “Little Women” last Christmas, which I used to read over and over as a child, so it just proves you’re never to old to read a children’s classic!

hesperuslogo__1_The first titles Hesperus have mentioned are:

The Coral Island by R. M. Ballantyne (foreword by John Boyne)
The Story of the Treasure Seekers by E. Nesbit (foreword by Julia Donaldson)
The Princess and the Goblin by George Macdonald (foreword by Joseph Delaney)

all of which are tales worthy of the title ‘classic’. I’m particularly keen to revisit “The Coral Island”, as I read this as a child but haven’t ever gone back to it, and the promise of a nice, French-flapped Hesperus edition is very appealing! The publishers have kindly provided a review copy and I’m itching to sit down and sink into some escapism.

Coral-Island

As well as this, Hesperus are running a competition to nominate a lost classic to be republished by them – you simply have to choose a book and explain in 500 words why you think it should be republished. Not only will the winner’s book get published, but their name and submission will also appear in the book! I am wracking my brains at the moment for a suitable candidate, but in the meantime if anyone wants to have a go at entering, the blog post with full details of how to enter and plus criteria/judges etc is here. Full terms and conditions are here.

The hardest bit, of course, will be to think of a sensible reason for nominating something a reader has an emotional connection with from childhood…….. Off to put my thinking cap on!

