It was my birthday at the weekend (I’m not saying which one….) and my family were kind enough to spoilt me with some very bookish gifts! Some of these were as a result of hints, but some they came up with on their own, so I was very pleased (to say the least!)

0007310579.01._SCLZZZZZZZ_SX200

060126-FC50

First up, other half very cleverly found a couple of books on Agatha Christie’s Notebooks, with unreleased stories. As a life-long lover of Dame Agatha’s work, this was a great treat!

women

Next up, Youngest Child presented me with a beautiful US Penguin edition of “Little Women” to replace my childhood volume which I’ve lost over the  years. This has a lovely faux-embroidered cover and the ragged-cut edges US paperbacks have – gorgeous!

umbrella

Middle Child produced a rather wonderful treat in the form of a signed copy of Will Self’s latest novel, “Umbrella”! I love Self’s work and saw him give a very funny talk and reading session a few years back. He did the same thing recently in her local town and she went along and picked up a personalised copy for me, which I’m very excited about!

old ways

And Eldest Child went to my wish list, circulated among family, and came up trumps with Robert Macfarlane’s “The Old Ways”. I’ve read a lot about this book recently so I’m very much looking forward to reading it.

plath

Last but not least on the bookish front, OH treated me to a CD – a BBC/British Library collection of Sylvia Plath (and Ted Hughes) interviews and readings – much excitement!

So I am in the luxurious position of having lots of reading material to choose from and not knowing what to pick up first – thank you, lovely family!

