(Actually a slightly misleading title, as there are birthday gifts included here too!!)

Christmas this year was full of lovely treats, the best of which was having Eldest Child, Middle Child and Youngest Child all together under one roof with us! As they get older, I often think they may soon want to spend the festive season with partners etc, so we make the most of this while it still happens.

However, there was still plenty of time for bookish joys, and I have been unbelievably spoiled with readable treats this year and first up are some birthday treats:

The fun thing was that I shared my Amazon wish list for the first time with my family and they responded rather beautifully with a varied selection of books covering Paris, Russia and the Cairngorms!

These were birthday treats too – I was pretty sure someone would get me the Morrissey book, the Neil Young one was a pleasant surprise as I didn’t know it existed, and the Laurens van der Post “Journey Into Russia” is a lovely first edition – as it’s a journey into Iron Curtain Russia, it’s going to be right up my street!

Christmas brought more treats – the French Market Cookbook was actually for my birthday, the Dylan book should be a fun read, and the third volume is from my old friend V who always surprises me every year with a book I haven’t got!

The Wainwright fellwalking books have been on my wish list for a *long* time – not that I’m likely to go fellwalking any time in the near future, as I live nowhere near the Lake District, alas. But they’re such beautiful books that I shall sit and read and gaze at them for hours!

 

And obviously my children have been paying attention to the wish list, as I’ve been wanting these three gems for a while – “Metropole” sounds fascinating, the condensed Dickens (!) should come in useful if I forget any of the plots and the Everyman Book of Russian Poets is just lovely.

These came from OH, who knows of my love of Poirot. I think David Suchet is the quintessential Hercule and I can’t wait to read his recollections. The other book is about Andover in Hampshire, where I grew up – should be a fascinating read!

And last (but definitely not least!), my very generous Virago Secret Santa, Liz at Libroediting, sent me such wonderful gifts:

This is the ‘before’ picture as the lovely packages sit under the tree.

 

Notice all the little notes? Liz sent messages about why she chose particular books which made the gifts even more special!

There were a couple more items not pictured, because I shall be writing about them soon. However, I feel thoroughly spoiled and very lucky to have family and friends who know what I love – thanks to all!

